Dr Honoris Causa Award

In 2008, Business School Lausanne decided to start awarding degrees of Doctorate Honoris Causa to high caliber people whose contribution to the common good was significant.

BSL took this decision for two reasons: we wanted to express our gratitude to people we considered as role models and to give more visibility to the values we wanted to promote through our vision and mission. We also wanted to reflect the international character of the school.

Recipients of this award were not limited to a specific field of activity, however had to align with our values. Recipients belong to the corporate world as well as to NGOs or international organizations.  A good balance between men and women, Swiss citizens and foreigners was also important for us.

To date, we have awarded our Doctorate Honoris Causa degree to 14 people, nine men and five women, five Swiss citizens and nine foreigners from the following countries: South Korea, UK, Eire, The Netherlands and Vietnam.  

Their contributions were extremely diverse, as can be seen below.

Marc-André Berclaz

Jean-Claude Biver

Duong Chi Dung

Peter Bakker

Polly Higgins

Luc Hoffmann

Kate Raworth

Sung-Joo Kim

Paul Polman

Mary Robinson

Kate Robertson

Claude Nicollier

Joseph Deiss

Ngo Quang Xuan