BSL Lausanne: Our History

A brief overview of BSL’s history

1987: Foundation by John Hobbs
1996: Award of accreditation by ACBSP for BBA and MBA program
1996: Launch of the Executive MBA program
1997: BSL becomes a member of the Lemania Group of Schools
2004: ISO 9001 Certification
2006: Reaffirmation of ACBSP accreditation for BBA, MBA and DBA
2006: Commitment to UN Global Compact ten principles
2008: Appointment of Dr. Katrin Muff as Dean
2008: Membership of Delta Mu Delta
2009: BSL restructures the MBA programs, begins online collaboration with Harvard Business Publishing, offers seminars for business professionals
2009: BSL’s MBA program is ranked 40 among top European Business Schools
2010: BSL becomes a member of EFMD
2010: BSL launches new Master’s programs
2010: BSL joins PRME
2011-2018: In collaboration with the University of St. Gallen, BSL runs a post-graduate Diploma program in Sustainable Business
2012: Restructuring of the BBA program to include sustainability in each module
2012: BSL is elected to the Swiss business school in the exclusive business school network of the Kofi Annan Business School Foundation
2012: Award of accreditation by ACBSP for Master’s programs
2014: BSL becomes the first university worldwide to pass the audit to become an organization of the Economy for the Common Good
2015-2018: BSL explores Holacracy as its operational management system to become a self-organized and responsive learning organization
2018: Appointment of Dr. David Claivaz as Acting Dean
2019 Graduation Ceremony


BSL is founded


ACBSP Accreditation